I’ve been gaming for a long time. I remember my first real board game was the old Avalon Hill Tactics II. I think I got it for a birthday present for my 12th birthday which was in 1960. I was really excited by it. I spent a lot of my youth playing various other boardgames. My all time favorite is AH’s Afrika Korps. I began playing historical miniatures in 1971 and roleplaying games in 1977. This gives me some 30+ years in the gaming hobby. Over that time period, I’ve developed  some basic gaming philosophies. They are:

1.) If the players are having a good time playing it and the Gamemaster is having a good time running then it’s a good game. For me, the whole idea is to have fun. It’s as simple as that.

2.) Always be willing to try something new. Well, ya never know when you’ll find the next thing that piques your interest.

3.) The Golden Rule is especially helpful in the gaming hobby.

Well, there you have it. Nothing profoundly complicated but these principles have always stood me in good stead.

